History of the Awards
You are here: Home \ Greater Dandenong Chamber Business Awards \ History of the Awards

In 1990 a small group of businessmen met together to form a program that recognised, profiled and highlighted the success and achievements by local industry in a number of different categories. These five men – Stephen Giles (M+K), John Marsh (Destination Travel), John Woods (The Journal), Hans Rubens (Successories) and Ian McDonald (City of Dandenong) were leaders in the community and took the challenge of doing something about the current climate at a grass roots level.

In 1991 a series of networking events was founded. They would honour fifteen businesses each year and present the Premier Regional Business Award to one of the year’s nominees. A few years later, the Greater Dandenong Chamber of Commerce took over the responsibility of coordinating the awards, they have since grown to become one of the most prestigious local business awards in the country.

Over the past twenty-five years, the following businesses have been honoured as the Premier Regional Business Award recipient:

1991 – Insurance Exchange of Australia

1992 – Traders Auto Spares/Autopro

1993 – Bombardier

1994 – Tycab Australia

1995 – NATRA

1996 – Pryda Australia

1997 – Jayco Australia

1998 – Brakes Plus

1999 – HM Gem Engines

2000 – GBC Scientific

2001 – Volgren

2002 – Astral Hurlcon

2003 – Hayman Reese

2004 – Sealed Air/Entapack

2005 – Hilton Manufacturing

2006 – Lumen Australia

2007 – Allstaff Air Conditioning

2008 – Injectronics Australia

2009 – Fantech

2010 – Hilton Manufacturing (20th Anniversary Awards)

2011 – Bytecraft

2012 – Silvan Australia

2013 – Patterson Cheney Cars and Trucks

2014 – SRX Global

2015 – Hilton Manufacturing (25th Anniversary Awards)

In 2016, the Chamber made the decision to re-badge the awards, and this marked the beginning of the Greater Dandenong Chamber Business Awards. The Chamber Awards continue the 25-year tradition of recognising and honouring outstanding business achievement in the Greater Dandenong area. In its first year, ten outstanding businesses were highlighted at four breakfasts during the year, culminating in the awarding of the overall Chamber Award.

The following businesses have been honoured as the Greater Dandenong Chamber Business Award winner:

2016 – Cabrini Linen Service

2017 – Lifestyle Brands International

2018 – Le Pine White Lady Funerals

2019 – Southern Metropolitan Cemeteries Trust (SMCT)

Hall of Fame Recipients

Ron Rado 2

Ron Rado, Standard Roads

Gerry Ryan

Gerry Ryan, Jayco

Tom Hartley

Tom Hartley, Hilton Manufacturing

Bruce Parker -HM GEM Engines_2

Bruce Parker, HM Gem Engines

Ken Grenda

Ken Grenda, Grenda Corporation

Sandra George - v2

Sandra George, SEBN

Jill Walsh

Jill Walsh, Actco-Pickering Metal Industries

James Sturgess, Macpherson Kelley Lawyers

Sign Up To Our Newsletter